Class 3

Year 6 Breakfast to Success, May 2017

Our Year 6 pupils are currently taking their end of Key Stage 2 SATs tests with the help of a hearty breakfast made by our lovely dinner lady, Lisa.  Here they are, with stomachs full and brains aglow, ready to tackle the next paper!

IMG 2295 (Medium)
...
Tue, 09/05/2017 (All day)

Class 3 Topic Letter - Summer Term

Sat, 29/04/2017 (All day)

Key Stage 2 Swimming Lessons

Date: 
Repeats every week until Mon Jun 26 2017 .
Monday, 5 June 2017 - 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Monday, 12 June 2017 - 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Monday, 19 June 2017 - 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Monday, 26 June 2017 - 1:00pm - 3:30pm

Swimming lessons will take place at the Pyramids Swimming Pool in Exeter.  Children will need to bring their swimming costumes, towels and goggles for these lessons.

Bikeability Lessons for Year 5

Date: 
Repeats every day until Fri May 19 2017 .
Monday, 15 May 2017 - 1:30pm
Tuesday, 16 May 2017 - 1:30pm
Wednesday, 17 May 2017 - 1:30pm
Thursday, 18 May 2017 - 1:30pm
Friday, 19 May 2017 - 1:30pm

The Year 5 pupils will be completing their Bikeability training at school during the afternoon sessions.  They will need to bring their own road-worthy bike and helmet.  Details about this training will come out beforehand.

Big Write, February 2017

The current Big Write is all about animal adaptations.  Click on the link to read more.

Sat, 04/02/2017 (All day)

World War II Topic in KS2, January 2017

The history topic for the Key Stage 2 pupils this term is all about World War II and what it would have been like to be a child living in the era.  So far, the children have learned about the reasons why the war started, about the effect of the blitz and about shelters (they have even made their own cardboard versions!)  The pupils are so enthusiastic about this topic that some have brought World War II artefacts into school to share with the class.  The photograph shows one of our Year 6 pupils trying on a sheepskin flying-jacket from the period.

IMG 2202 (Medium)
...
Fri, 27/01/2017 (All day)

Class 3 make Butter! January 2017

As part of an English unit on instruction writing, Class 3 followed a recipe to make butter.  They used double cream and shook it vigorously until it solidified.  They then sieved off the whey, patted the butter into shape using some wooden butter pats and finally spread their butter onto bread to taste.  The overall consensus was that their home-made butter was delicious.

IMG 2186 (Medium)
...
IMG 2180 (Medium)
...
IMG 2176 (Medium)
...
Wed, 11/01/2017 (All day)

KS2 Sporting Excitement, January 2017

The Key Stage 2 children have been given a very exciting opportunity to try out some new sports by the company Premier Sports.  One of their coaches, Andy Tyrell, came into Doddi and taught the children about special fencing terms and the basic fencing moves.  After only one hour, the children were already able to attack, defend and counter-attack.  Milly in Year 5 said that the afternoon had been really fun and that the children had progressed a lot.

IMG 2160 (Medium)
...
IMG 2166 (Medium)
...
IMG 2156 (Medium)
...
Tue, 10/01/2017 (All day)

Class 3, Spring Topic Letter

Please click on the link to read about the topics being covered by Class 3 during the Spring Term.

Sat, 07/01/2017 (All day)

Mel Stride awards prize! December 2016

Mel Stride, MP for Central Devon, visited Doddi School to award a very special prize to one of our Year 5 girls.  She entered a competition to design a special Christmas card for Mel, and won!  All the children were pleased to meet Mel and our winner was delighted to receive a framed copy of her card and to have a special photograph taken with a real VIP!

IMG 1680 (Medium)
...
Thu, 15/12/2016 (All day)